The College Celebrates the Spring Faculty and Staff Luncheon

The Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Spring Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon was held on Tuesday, April 19.

Dean Jacqueline Royster recognized the accomplishments of the College throughout the year noting that, “The world hungers for more holistically forged solutions for more complexly defined challenges, and this is what we do.”

Royster presented  Juan McGruder, the director of development for the College, with a personalized gift (a bowtie) in appreciation for his “determination, tenaciousness, patience, expertise, relentless optimism, and persistent commitment” in achieving and exceeding the ambitious fundraising Campaign Georgia Tech goal for the College.

Recipients of the Distinguished Staff Awards, also known as “Buzz” Awards were Ed Able (Modern Languages), Jade Hill (Economics), and Keven Pittman (Office of Information Technology) for their administrative services. Elizabeth Miller (Office of Undergraduate Services) received an award for Student Services. Each award carries a $1,000 check.

Professor Vicki Birchfield from the Sam Nunn School of International Affairs presented Andre Desmedt an award for his dedicated service of fifteen years to the French study abroad programs at Georgia Tech. This was Desmedt’s first time visiting the United States.

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Students John Tone introduced the Student Advisory Board student who presented the Distinguished Teaching Awards. Amy D’Unger from the School of History and Sociology received the award for non-tenure track faculty. Nassim JafariNaimi from the School of Literature, Media, and Communication received the award for tenure track faculty.

Dean Royster presented the Faculty Researcher Awards:  

The Gold Star – Level 1 awards recognize faculty who, for the first time, garner $100,000 or more in external research dollars. Recipients receive a $500 travel award. Gold Star 1 recipients are: Paul Baker, Jenna Jordan, Gordon Kingsley, Juan Moreno-Cruz, Milton Mueller, Michael Salomone, and Zachary Mark Taylor.

The Gold Star – Level 2 awards recognize faculty who bring in external research dollars above $100,000 subsequent to the Gold Star 1 or have received prestigious fellowships. They receive a $750 travel award. Recipients are: Kaye Husbands Fealing and Juan Rogers.

The Million Dollar Club recognizes faculty who have accumulated more than $1 million dollars in research over time. Recognition includes a $1,000 travel fund. This year, Lauren Klein joined the Club, the members of which include: Ian Bogost, Danny Boston, Marilyn Brown, Carl DiSalvo, Ute Fischer, Vicki Galloway, Sy Goodman, Chris LeDantec, Brian Magerko, Julia Melkers, Helena Mitchell, Phil Shapira, and Adam Stulberg.

The Distinguished Faculty Researcher Award, carrying a one-time $20,000 research award, was awarded to Jay P. Telotte from the School of Literature, Media, and Communication.

To close the festivities, Dean Royster awarded two crystal awards to members of the faculty and staff who are retiring at the end of the year. She recognized Tina Lambert, director of Finance Administration for the College, and Gregory Nobles, professor in the School of History and Sociology.

“As I’ve said now on many occasions, we are not your grandfather’s liberal arts,” Dean Royster reminded the attendees. “We are innovative pacesetters for the 21st century.”

“My thanks go to all of you — faculty, staff, and students — for making it so. Please keep up the great work; have a wonderful end of the academic year; and a great and refreshing summer,” continued Dean Royster. “Remember, we’ve only just begun.”

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Spring 2016 Faculty and Staff Luncheon

  • Distinguished Faculty Award Recipient Jay Telotte

For More Information Contact

Rebecca Keane
Director of Communications
Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts at Georgia Tech

Related Links